July Wrap Up !!

Hello nerdy bookworms 🙂

It’s good to meet you guys back. I have a good news for you people, finally I’m back to book blogging and I believe I will never put down again. I wasn’t able to post any before because I was kinda of given up blogging till someone has literally inspired me and so here I am. 🙂 Apologies for being inactive. I will try my best to post often after this.

epic-hugs-monsters-inc.gif

Hugs for you people to make it up for my inactivity.

Okay people, without further a do let’s get into my July Wrap. July was a hectic month for me as usual, nothing has changed since I moved into college. It wasn’t a productive month as I was busy with assignments and exams. Finally it’s over guys which means I can read more on August. I have read a total of 3 books last month which was quite good I guess, better than not reading at all and I enjoyed each one of them.

13694726_943817882394916_2029493666_n


First book: Looking For Alaska

Title: Looking for Alaska
Author: John Green
Pages: 221
Type: Paperback
Genre: Contemporary, YA

transparent_text_effect (3)
Before. Miles “Pudge” Halter’s whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” (François Rabelais, poet) even more. He heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young, who is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart.

After. Nothing is ever the same.

transparent_text_effect (4)

“I go to seek a Great Perhaps.”

Looking for Alaska wasn’t a good read to me compared to any other Contemporary young adult books perhaps it doesn’t live up to my expectation. It’s an overhyped book I would say. This is the second John Green’s book that I kinda little dislike. If you have read John Green’s book then you would know, all of his book if you notice, was to send a lovely message to us at the end of the read, the same goes to this book. Okay, to be honest the first half of the book was quite slow paced until there is this one part “After” and then I was totally hooked with the book till the end of it. Reading this book required a lot of patience. If you love plot twist book then I would definitely recommend you to read this book as Looking for Alaska has this biggest heart-wrenching plot twist. I rated this book 3.8/5 stars.


 Second book: City of Lost Souls

Title: City of Lost Souls
Author: Cassandra Clare

Pages: 534
Type: Paperback
Genre: Fantasy

transparent_text_effect (3)

The New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments continues—and so do the thrills and danger for Jace, Clary, and Simon. What price is too high to pay, even for love? When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary is horrified to discover that the demon Lilith’s magic has bound her beloved Jace together with her evil brother Sebastian, and that Jace has become a servant of evil. The Clave is out to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. As Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle wheedle and bargain with Seelies, demons, and the merciless Iron Sisters to try to save Jace, Clary plays a dangerous game of her own. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost? Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge. Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters in the harrowing fifth book of the Mortal Instruments series.

transparent_text_effect (4)

“Where’s Magnus?” he said. AS he looked toward the kitchen, Clary saw a bruise on his jaw, below his ear, about the size of a thumbprint.
“Alec!” Magnus came skidding into the living room and blew a kiss to his boyfriend across the room. Having discarded his slippers, he was barefoot now. His cat’s eyes shone as he looked at Alec.”
Cassandra Clare, City of Lost Souls

City of lost souls is the sequel to the City of bones, fifth book. Okay there is so much to say but I can’t put them in words. If you have followed me in bookstagram for quite long then you would know how much I love this series. This book is so phenomenal and splendid. Cassandra’s writing gets better and better as the series goes on and I love how she intrigued the readers with suspense. It’s a high fantasy book. If you love vampires, werewolves, wizards and all sorts of supernaturals then you will definitely love this book. Speaking of characters, all of the antagonist and protagonist are well written where you will love with each of them and I ship so much all the already shipped couples by cassie especially malec. Magnus and Alec are partly the reason why I loved this series so much. This book is full of feelings and my heart could hardly take up the limit. I would highly recommend all of you to read this series whether you like fantasy or not because eventually you will fall in love with this series. I can definitely reread this series thousand times and more without failing. I rated this book up to 4.5/5 stars.


13643051_1811843592372086_172920214_n

Third book: Red Queen

Title: Red Queen
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Pages: –
Type: E-book
Genre: Dystopian, young adult

transparent_text_effect (3)

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.
The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.
That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.
Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.
But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.

transparent_text_effect (4)

“Rise, red as the dawn.”
Victoria Aveyard (Red Queen (Red Queen, #1))

Oh my gosh, you people have to seriously need to pick this book up if you haven’t already. Literally one of the best dystopian book I have ever read in my life. First of all, the cover of this book was so pretty that has intrigued me into reading this book, totally a cover buy book and yet it was worth it. This book was filled with quite a numerous of suspense and there is this one unexpected big plot twist that you will wish never happened but somehow it did and I am craving for the second book already as soon as I finished this gem. I love how simple and fast paced the book was written by Victoria Aveyard. It was an easy read. The characters was well written where I adored all of it. This is totally a girl power book for you ladies out there. I’m not gonna spoil you but I’m highly recommending you to read it. I have rated this book up to 4.8/5 stars.

Talk to you soon.

transparent_text_effect (2)

Leave a Reply

